Stepping Stones

Last week, I wrote about changing from one technique to another, from watercolor to gouache. That change had been brewing in me for a while and though technique will play an important part, it’s about more than technique. It’s about expanding my art, working out some ideas, and developing new skills. Changing technique is good way to start this process.

But before I get very absorbed with this new body of work, I have some unfinished business to attend to.

Prior to my departure for France, I had started a few watercolors, that were left aside. For some of them, it was a lack of time, for others, I was stuck. Both the trip and stepping into a different technique have given me the distance to get back to them with a fresh eye. Thus before I really move ahead with another project, I want to complete them.

It’s not that everything I wanted to do with this project is done. That’s impossible, and unattainable. Still, I am happy with what I did and learned, for now. It has generated a lot of ideas I want to take into another form of painting
(http://www.tate.org.uk/art/art-terms/f/form).

That form is still to be found, and here’s why getting back to unfinished work will be a good thing.

It gets me back in touch with the numerous ideas that were were brimming in my mind while I was painting.

 

 

Ideas on composition such as:

How far can I render a tapestry-like effect in nature before it gets too even?

Ideas on color such as:

How many greens are there and how do you make them alive?

 

 

 

 

You can see several attempts here.
Did I exhaust those ideas? I feel I barely started to explore them. And as I forge ahead, they will be my stepping stones to the next form.

 
Louise Jalbert, “Branches and Foliage”, 2017, Watercolor on paper, 11 x 15 inches, and other unfinished watercolors in the studio.

Tremplins

La semaine dernière, j’écrivais au sujet d’un changement de technique en peinture. Cela faisait un bon moment que je désirais ce changement. Même si changer de procédé est important, la véritable transformation s’opère à un autre niveau. Il s’agit plutôt d’approfondir mon expression artistique, d’expérimenter avec certaines idées et de développer de nouvelles habiletés. Changer de technique est une bonne façon de commencer ce processus.
Mais au préalable, j’ai à terminer certaines oeuvres en souffrance.

Avant mon départ pour la France, j’ai commencé quelques aquarelles que j’ai ensuite mises de côté, soit par manque de temps, soit parce que j’étais indécise. Le voyage ainsi que le fait de passer à une autre technique m’ont donné le recul nécessaire pour y revenir avec un regard neuf. Et donc, avant de m’engager dans une nouveau parcours, j’aimerais les compléter.

Ce n’est pas que tout ce je voulais faire soit entièrement réalisé dans cette série d’aquarelles. C’est impossible et d’ailleurs je n’y tiens pas. Mais, pour l’instant, je suis assez satisfaite de ce groupe d’oeuvres et surtout, je sens qu’aborder mes idées dans une autre forme sera fructueux.

Cette forme reste à trouver, et voici pourquoi revenir à un travail antérieur sera salutaire:

Cela me remet en contact avec les nombreuses idées qui se bouscoulaient dans ma tête pendant je peignais cette série d’aquarelle. 

 

 

Des idées de composition telles que:

Jusqu’où puis-je développer un effet, que je nommerais “tapisserie”, dans ma représentation de la nature sans que cela devienne monotone?

 

 

 

Des idées de couleur telles que:

Combien de variations de la couleur verte puis-je faire et comment les rendre vivantes?

 

 

 

Vous voyez ces quelques essais… Ai-je épuisé ces idées? J’ai plutôt impression de les avoir à peine abordées… Et donc, à cette nouvelle étape de mon travail, elles me serviront de tremplin vers une autre forme d’expression.

Louise Jalbert, “Feuillages et branches”, 2017, aquarelle sur papier, et autres aquarelles en cours dans l’atelier.