Beauty

On Monday a fierce autumn wind was shaking trees and tearing leaves ruthlessly away from their branches. The splendor of October is now being swept away to be followed by the stark beauty of November. The last few weeks have provided a visual feast, treating us with the sparkling light and extravagant colors of the Québec fall. This ultimate abundance seems to me as nature’s way to saturate our souls and senses so that we may better welcome the austerity of winter.

It is an interesting lesson in thinking about beauty and its many opposite forms. What is beauty, we may ask? How does one define it? There are probably as many meanings for beauty as there are individuals. But I believe that, deep inside us, we all have a yearning for it.

Irish poet and philosopher John O’Donohue brings a sensitive and profound definition of beauty in the following interview with Krista Tippet:

Beauty isn’t all about just nice, loveliness like. Beauty is about more rounded substantial becoming. So I think beauty in that sense is about an emerging fullness, a greater sense of grace and elegance, a deeper sense of depth, and also a kind of homecoming for the enriched memory of your unfolding life.

John O’Donohue

John O’Donohue — The Inner Landscape of Beauty

I admire how O’Donohue articulates such elusive thoughts and stimulates a resonance in our minds with his words. Such is the power of poetry. There is a stirring going on inside me and I feel as if I understand beauty in all its magnificence.

Being neither a philosopher nor a poet, I find defining beauty a bit daunting. In fact, it is quite difficult. But I am drawn to it in all its forms and I like to explore this notion with my own tools, which are color and paint. I may stumble, but what keeps me going is the hope of somehow communicating my own wonderment of this mystery.

Louise Jalbert, “October Foliage”, 2016, Watercolor on paper, 15 x 22 inches

Le regard et la beauté

Lundi, un vent puissant secouait les arbres et arrachait les feuilles de leurs branches, les emportant dans un tourbillon. La splendeur du mois d’octobre se dépouille maintenant, faisant place à la sobriété de novembre. Au cours des dernières semaines, la lumière éblouissante et les couleurs vives de notre automne québécois ont été intenses. Cette apothéose m’apparait comme un ultime cadeau de la nature, permettant à nos sens et à notre mémoire de se rassasier afin d’être prêts pour accueillir l’austérité de l’hiver.

C’est un exercice pour le regard à propos de la beauté dans ses formes souvent opposées. Je m’avance ici à tous petits pas, car prétendre définir la beauté n’est pas une mince affaire. Il existe sans doute autant d’énonciations sur le sujet que d’individus prêts à y réfléchir. Mais je crois qu’au fond de chacun de nous, il y a un appel à la beauté.

Le poète et philosophe irlandais John O’Donohue a profondément réfléchi à ce sujet. Il évoque ses réflexions dans une entrevue (en anglais, mais avec une transcription) avec Krista Tippet.

La beauté ne se compose pas que de charme, de joliesse. Il s’agit plutôt d’un devenir essentiel et épanouissant. En ce sens, je crois que la beauté est une forme d’ampleur émergente, un sentiment d’élégance et de grâce, une impression de grande profondeur ainsi qu’une sorte de retour au bercail pour la mémoire ainsi enrichie de votre vie qui se déploie.

John O’Donohue,
traduction Louise Jalbert

John O’Donohue — The Inner Landscape of Beauty

John O’Donohue exprimait ses réflexions sur un sujet aussi insaisissable de façon admirablement imagée et sensible. Ses paroles et sa voix soulèvent en moi une résonnance et une compréhension lumineuse de la beauté dans toute sa magnificence. Tel est le pouvoir de la poésie.

N’étant ni poète ni philosophe, tenter de définir en mots me semble hors de portée. Il n’en reste pas moins que celle-ci me fascine sous toutes ses formes, et j’aime explorer cette notion avec mes propres moyens, la peinture et le dessin. Je tâtonne, mais je m’entête avec l’espoir de pouvoir exprimer ne serait-ce qu’une parcelle de mon émerveillement.